What Stravinsky had to say about The Rite of Spring
Thu, 11 Jan 2018

Previously we discussed Stravinsky’s famous The Rite of Spring. We know that this piece quickly became one of the most well-known works of the early 20th century. But why so controversial? At the premiere of the ballet in 1913, a riot began amongst members of the audience. Historians believe that it was the choreography created by dancer Vaclav Nijinsky that provoked the majority of controversy rather than Stravinsky’s score. Years following this scandalous premiere, here is what Stravinsky had to say about the experience:

“That the first performance of The Rite of Springwas attended by a scandal must be known to everybody. Strange as it may seem, however, I was unprepared for the explosion myself…
                                               
Mild protests against the music could be heard from the very beginning of the performance. Then, when the curtain opened on the group of knock-kneed and long-braided Lolitas jumping up and down, the storm broke. Cries of “Shut up!” came from behind me. I heard Florent Schmitt shout “Be quiet, you bitches of the sixteenth”; the “bitches” of the sixteenth arrondissement were, of course, the most elegant ladies in Paris. The uproar continued, however, and a few minutes later I left the hall in a rage; I was sitting on the right near the orchestra, and I remember slamming the door. I have never again been that angry. The music was so familiar to me; I loved it, and I could not understand why people who had not yet heard it wanted to protest in advance. I arrived in a fury backstage, where I saw Diaghilev flicking the house lights in a last effort to quiet the hall. For the rest of the performance I stood in the wings behind Nijinsky holding the tails of his frac, while he stood on a chair shouting numbers to the dancers, like a coxswain.”

Listen to Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring here and let me know if you can understand why it was controversial in 1913. Also, does the piece move your “affections” (emotions) in any particular way? If so, how? Did your enjoyment of the piece change now that you know the story behind the music?


More from Clef Notes:

The Passionate Love of Hector Berlioz
Tue, 13 Feb 2018

Brahms' Correspondence with Clara Schumann
Thu, 08 Feb 2018

The Pursuit of Clara Schumann
Tue, 06 Feb 2018

Querelle des bouffons
Wed, 31 Jan 2018

Shostakovich's Response to Criticism
Fri, 26 Jan 2018

Controversy and Shostakovich
Wed, 24 Jan 2018

Shostakovich's Lady Macbeth
Mon, 22 Jan 2018

Irony in Kindertotenlieder
Fri, 19 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind Kindertotenlieder
Wed, 17 Jan 2018

Mahler's Kindertotenlieder
Mon, 15 Jan 2018

What Stravinsky had to say about The Rite of Spring
Thu, 11 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind The Rite of Spring
Tue, 09 Jan 2018

John Cage and Aleotoricism
Thu, 04 Jan 2018

What is music?
Tue, 02 Jan 2018

Happy New Year!
Mon, 01 Jan 2018

Merry Christmas from 90.9 WGUC and Clef Notes!
Mon, 25 Dec 2017

O magnum mysterium
Wed, 20 Dec 2017

Happy Birthday Beethoven!
Sat, 16 Dec 2017

Richard Strauss' Till Eulenspiegel
Tue, 12 Dec 2017

Brahms and Absolute Music
Thu, 07 Dec 2017