Mozart, Salieri, and Pop Culture
Thu, 22 Feb 2018

The Mozart/Salieri rivalry mentioned last time and the false rumors that Salieri poisoned Mozart inspired many creative works in years to come, thus causing more people to believe the over-exaggerated story. One example includes Alexander Pushkin’s 1830 play, Mozart and Salieri. Rimsky-Korsakov wrote an opera based on this play in 1897.

The more popular influence from these historical rumors occurred in the 1984 film Amadeus. The film begins with the elderly Salieri housed in an insane asylum, confessing his sins in relation to the deceased Mozart. The story is a tale of jealousy and hatred, again over-exaggerating the rivalry for which historians do not have a strong foundation.

Can you think of other occurrences of the Mozart/Salieri relationship within pop culture? 

More from Clef Notes:

Rhythm Games
Tue, 20 Mar 2018

Making Music in a Game
Thu, 15 Mar 2018

The Role of Music in Gaming
Tue, 13 Mar 2018

Video Game Music History!
Thu, 08 Mar 2018

Video Games and Music
Tue, 06 Mar 2018

Schubert's "Great" Symphony
Thu, 01 Mar 2018

Living in Beethoven's Shadow
Tue, 27 Feb 2018

Mozart, Salieri, and Pop Culture
Thu, 22 Feb 2018

The Mozart/Salieri Rivalry
Tue, 20 Feb 2018

Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique
Thu, 15 Feb 2018

The Passionate Love of Hector Berlioz
Tue, 13 Feb 2018

Brahms' Correspondence with Clara Schumann
Thu, 08 Feb 2018

The Pursuit of Clara Schumann
Tue, 06 Feb 2018

Querelle des bouffons
Wed, 31 Jan 2018

Shostakovich's Response to Criticism
Fri, 26 Jan 2018

Controversy and Shostakovich
Wed, 24 Jan 2018

Shostakovich's Lady Macbeth
Mon, 22 Jan 2018

Irony in Kindertotenlieder
Fri, 19 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind Kindertotenlieder
Wed, 17 Jan 2018

Mahler's Kindertotenlieder
Mon, 15 Jan 2018