Mahler's Kindertotenlieder
Mon, 15 Jan 2018

Controversy surrounds the music of Gustav Mahler, with one great example being his Kindertotenlieder (“Songs on the Death of Children”). Mahler first began work on this orchestral song cycle in 1901. An orchestral song cycle is a group of songs meant for performance as a unit and accompanied by an orchestra. The texts that Mahler chose for his song cycle were taken from poems by Friedrich Rueckert, who originally wrote these poems along with many others as a form of mourning the death of his children. Mahler felt a special connection to the poetry as one of Rueckert’s children (Ernst) shared a name with his deceased brother.                                                              
Not long after he began work on Kindertotenlieder, Mahler met the woman who would become his wife the following year. His marriage to Alma Mahler and the birth of two daughters fairly quickly would change the circumstances surrounding his song cycle, resulting in a strong difference in opinion between the composer and his new bride and a haunting story for the Mahler family.

Join me on Wednesday for more on the eerie tale surrounding Kindertotenlieder.


More from Clef Notes:

The Passionate Love of Hector Berlioz
Tue, 13 Feb 2018

Brahms' Correspondence with Clara Schumann
Thu, 08 Feb 2018

The Pursuit of Clara Schumann
Tue, 06 Feb 2018

Querelle des bouffons
Wed, 31 Jan 2018

Shostakovich's Response to Criticism
Fri, 26 Jan 2018

Controversy and Shostakovich
Wed, 24 Jan 2018

Shostakovich's Lady Macbeth
Mon, 22 Jan 2018

Irony in Kindertotenlieder
Fri, 19 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind Kindertotenlieder
Wed, 17 Jan 2018

Mahler's Kindertotenlieder
Mon, 15 Jan 2018

What Stravinsky had to say about The Rite of Spring
Thu, 11 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind The Rite of Spring
Tue, 09 Jan 2018

John Cage and Aleotoricism
Thu, 04 Jan 2018

What is music?
Tue, 02 Jan 2018

Happy New Year!
Mon, 01 Jan 2018

Merry Christmas from 90.9 WGUC and Clef Notes!
Mon, 25 Dec 2017

O magnum mysterium
Wed, 20 Dec 2017

Happy Birthday Beethoven!
Sat, 16 Dec 2017

Richard Strauss' Till Eulenspiegel
Tue, 12 Dec 2017

Brahms and Absolute Music
Thu, 07 Dec 2017