John Williams: A Life in Music
Mon, 03 Sep 2018

Anyone who is a true Star Wars junkie knows that May 4 of each year is International Star Wars Day – “May the fourth be with you!” The London Symphony Orchestra celebrated Star Wars Day this year with the release of their new album, John Williams: A Life in Music. This release marked the LSO’s over forty-year collaboration with John Williams, which all began back in 1977 with the filming of Star Wars. Although this new album doesn’t offer any new works from Williams, it does include the world premiere recording of the Theme from Schindler’s List for solo cello (normally the solo part is played by the violin). The album also contains music from iconic Williams film scores including Star Wars, Hook, Saving Private Ryan, Jaws, Superman, Jurassic Park, Harry Potter, Raiders of the Lost Ark, and E.T.

Although it’s a bit disappointing that Mr. Williams is not the conductor on John Williams: A Life in Music (Gavin Greenaway performs that role), this album does offer the John Williams enthusiast all of the best from this legendary American composer. An added bonus is the beautiful packaging – each page of the liner notes contains commentary from members of the LSO.

Interested in hearing this album? Tune in during the WGUC September Fund Drive when you will not only hear it but can request your own copy! It’s our way of saying “thank you” for supporting the classical music on 90.9.


More from Clef Notes:

History of the May Festival
Mon, 01 Oct 2018

Coming Up on Music Cincinnati
Mon, 24 Sep 2018

A New Album from Anne Akiko Meyers
Mon, 17 Sep 2018

Getting Ready for Autumn
Mon, 10 Sep 2018

John Williams: A Life in Music
Mon, 03 Sep 2018

Classical Music 101: What Happens Behind The Scenes At A Classical Public Radio Station? - Part 3
Mon, 27 Aug 2018

Music Cincinnati: Music in the Museum
Mon, 20 Aug 2018

A Tribute to Ralph Vaughan Williams
Mon, 13 Aug 2018

Happy Birthday, Lenny!
Fri, 03 Aug 2018

Classical Music 101: What Happens Behind The Scenes At A Classical Public Radio Station? - Part 2
Mon, 30 Jul 2018

Leonard Bernstein's Jewish Heritage
Mon, 23 Jul 2018

What's coming up on Music Cincinnati?
Mon, 16 Jul 2018

A New Album from Simone Dinnerstein
Mon, 09 Jul 2018

Music for the 4th!
Wed, 04 Jul 2018

Leonard Bernstein: A Celebrated Teacher
Mon, 25 Jun 2018

Music Cincinnati: Linton Chamber Music Series
Mon, 18 Jun 2018

Charles Gounod Turns 200!
Mon, 11 Jun 2018

Virtual Tour: WGUC Music Library
Mon, 04 Jun 2018

Sibelius' Kullervo
Tue, 29 May 2018

Bernstein's Mass
Thu, 17 May 2018