Happy Birthday, Lenny!
Fri, 03 Aug 2018

It’s finally here – Leonard Bernstein’s birthday month! August 25th marks this legendary musician’s centennial and WGUC has been counting down since May with a daily spotlight on a performance he either composed, conducted, or performed. We have some special things in store this month and I don’t want you to miss a thing so below, there’s a listing of what’s to come in the next few weeks. Also, check out this Spotify playlistwhenever you want a little extra Bernstein in your day.

August 5, 8pm
CSO in Concert Encore (Concert Date: February 23–24)
Juraj Valcuha, conductor; Simone Lamsma, violin
R. STRAUSS: Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks
BERNSTEIN: Serenade, after Plato’s Symposium
KORNGOLD: Suite from Much Ado About Nothing
STRAUSS: Suite from Der Rosenkavalier

August 12, 8pm
CSO in Concert Encore (Concert Date: April 20–21)
Cristian Macelaru, conductor; Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano
BERNSTEIN: Three Dance Episodes from On the Town
GERSHWIN: Piano Concerto
IVES: Three Places in New England
BERNSTEIN: Divertimento

August 19, 8pm
Leonard Bernstein: A Legacy
90.9 WGUC presents a special broadcast celebrating the centennial of one of America’s greatest musicians. Interviews with musicians who knew Bernstein including Dick Waller, Mark Gibson, and Carmon DeLeone, along with commentary from historians such as Dr. bruce mcclung, Mark Horowitz, and Rick Pender – plus a variety of music including works Bernstein composed, conducted, and performed at the piano. Hosted by Brian O’Donnell.
August 24, 7pm
Leonard Bernstein: America’s Music Teacher: Celebrate Leonard Bernstein's centennial with an exploration of his teaching style. Hosted by Andrea Blain, this new, music-filled two-hour special celebrates Bernstein's devotion to music education, through his Young Person's Concerts with the New York Philharmonic, his Harvard lectures, his CBS Omnibus Television specials, and his many writings about music.    




More from Clef Notes:

History of the May Festival
Mon, 01 Oct 2018

Coming Up on Music Cincinnati
Mon, 24 Sep 2018

A New Album from Anne Akiko Meyers
Mon, 17 Sep 2018

Getting Ready for Autumn
Mon, 10 Sep 2018

John Williams: A Life in Music
Mon, 03 Sep 2018

Classical Music 101: What Happens Behind The Scenes At A Classical Public Radio Station? - Part 3
Mon, 27 Aug 2018

Music Cincinnati: Music in the Museum
Mon, 20 Aug 2018

A Tribute to Ralph Vaughan Williams
Mon, 13 Aug 2018

Happy Birthday, Lenny!
Fri, 03 Aug 2018

Classical Music 101: What Happens Behind The Scenes At A Classical Public Radio Station? - Part 2
Mon, 30 Jul 2018

Leonard Bernstein's Jewish Heritage
Mon, 23 Jul 2018

What's coming up on Music Cincinnati?
Mon, 16 Jul 2018

A New Album from Simone Dinnerstein
Mon, 09 Jul 2018

Music for the 4th!
Wed, 04 Jul 2018

Leonard Bernstein: A Celebrated Teacher
Mon, 25 Jun 2018

Music Cincinnati: Linton Chamber Music Series
Mon, 18 Jun 2018

Charles Gounod Turns 200!
Mon, 11 Jun 2018

Virtual Tour: WGUC Music Library
Mon, 04 Jun 2018

Sibelius' Kullervo
Tue, 29 May 2018

Bernstein's Mass
Thu, 17 May 2018