O magnum mysterium
Wed, 20 Dec 2017

In light of Christmas this next week, I thought it would be appropriate to contemplate the beauty and meaning in an ancient Christmas text, O magnum mysterium. Below you can read the English translation of this text and then I’ve followed it with five musical settings. Which is your favorite, or do you have another favorite that is not listed here?

O great mystery,
and wonderful sacrament,
that animals should see the new-born Lord,
lying in a manger!
Blessed is the Virgin whose womb
was worthy to bear
Christ the Lord.
Alleluia!








More from Clef Notes:

Controversy Behind Kindertotenlieder
Wed, 17 Jan 2018

Mahler's Kindertotenlieder
Mon, 15 Jan 2018

What Stravinsky had to say about The Rite of Spring
Thu, 11 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind The Rite of Spring
Tue, 09 Jan 2018

John Cage and Aleotoricism
Thu, 04 Jan 2018

What is music?
Tue, 02 Jan 2018

Happy New Year!
Mon, 01 Jan 2018

Merry Christmas from 90.9 WGUC and Clef Notes!
Mon, 25 Dec 2017

O magnum mysterium
Wed, 20 Dec 2017

Happy Birthday Beethoven!
Sat, 16 Dec 2017

Richard Strauss' Till Eulenspiegel
Tue, 12 Dec 2017

Brahms and Absolute Music
Thu, 07 Dec 2017

Absolute vs. Programmatic Music
Tue, 05 Dec 2017

The Nutcracker: A Holiday Tradition
Thu, 30 Nov 2017

A Sleigh Ride with Delius
Tue, 28 Nov 2017

A Playlist for Thanksgiving
Thu, 23 Nov 2017

Arnold Bax's "November Woods"
Tue, 21 Nov 2017

Frank Bridge's "Summer"
Thu, 16 Nov 2017

A Mendelssohn Summer
Tue, 14 Nov 2017

Springtime with Copland
Thu, 09 Nov 2017