The Music of Samuel Barber
Tue, 18 Jul 2017

This month Clef Notes is looking at a few composers known for their work in American music history. Samuel Barber (19101981) is the perfect example of a composer who played a significant role in American music during the mid-twentieth century. He wrote in just about every genre and was known to create a style similar to that of the Romantic period rather than that of the modernists who surrounded him. Besides composing, he was also known as a singer and a pianist.

Barber first came to prominence in the late 1930s after Toscanini performed the second movement of his string quartet with the NBC Symphony Orchestra. That movement today is known as his Adagio for Strings and is often heard in film or settings where grief is the prominent mood.

In 1958, Barber won his first Pulitzer Prize for the opera Vanessa. Later, in 1962, he won a second Pulitzer Prize for his Piano Concerto. Do you know this work? Listen here.



More from Clef Notes:

Rebecca Clarke
Tue, 19 Sep 2017

The Wreckers
Thu, 14 Sep 2017

Ethel Smyth
Tue, 12 Sep 2017

Amy Beach's Gaelic Symphony
Thu, 07 Sep 2017

Happy Birthday Amy Beach!
Tue, 05 Sep 2017

What is your favorite era for the symphony?
Thu, 31 Aug 2017

William Grant Still's Afro-American Symphony
Tue, 29 Aug 2017

The Romantic Era Symphony
Thu, 24 Aug 2017

Beethoven's Pivotal Ninth Symphony
Tue, 22 Aug 2017

A Symphony by Mozart
Thu, 17 Aug 2017

Haydn and his Surprises!
Tue, 15 Aug 2017

Stamitz and the Mannheim Orchestra
Fri, 11 Aug 2017

A Symphony by Sammartini
Wed, 09 Aug 2017

The Early Symphony
Mon, 07 Aug 2017

Music by Danny Elfman
Thu, 03 Aug 2017

William Schuman's New England Triptych
Tue, 01 Aug 2017

The Music of Elmer Bernstein
Thu, 27 Jul 2017

Leonard Bernstein's West Side Story
Tue, 25 Jul 2017

Eric Whitacre and Goodnight Moon
Thu, 20 Jul 2017

The Music of Samuel Barber
Tue, 18 Jul 2017