Seasonal Music
Tue, 07 Nov 2017

It’s November and if you live in Cincinnati like I do, you know that this means the days are growing shorter, the air is getting cooler, and the trees are getting brighter! Autumn has always been my favorite season. Perhaps it’s the pumpkins or the falling leaves, or maybe Thanksgiving. As I reflect on what this season means to me, I can’t help but think of the many classical composers who wrote lovely music based on the changing of the seasons.

Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons is probably the most iconic “seasons” piece. Having over 500 concertos to his name, Vivaldi wrote many of his works for the young ladies at the school where he taught throughout his life. Some pieces, however, were written for his own performance purposes or for a patron. It is likely that The Four Seasons was composed for these last two reasons. They are accompanied by sonnets, likely written by the composer himself.

So you probably knew Vivaldi’s musical depiction of the seasons, but what about Glazunov’s? He wrote a magnificently orchestrated ballet in 4 scenes, one for each season.

In 1875, Tchaikovsky was asked to write his own set of character pieces for the St. Petersburg music magazine. He composed twelve short works for piano, one for each month of the year. Since their conception, there have been many different transcriptions of the various months.

Perhaps you prefer choral music? Then you likely favor Haydn’s reflections on the seasons in his oratorio, The Seasons. The libretto was adapted by Baron Gottfried van Swieten from a poem by James Thomson. The piece quickly became quite popular and was even printed in multiple translations!

What is your favorite “seasons” piece?

This month, Clef Notes will look at a few favorites for each season, including a special Thanksgiving playlist!  


More from Clef Notes:

Controversy Behind Kindertotenlieder
Wed, 17 Jan 2018

Mahler's Kindertotenlieder
Mon, 15 Jan 2018

What Stravinsky had to say about The Rite of Spring
Thu, 11 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind The Rite of Spring
Tue, 09 Jan 2018

John Cage and Aleotoricism
Thu, 04 Jan 2018

What is music?
Tue, 02 Jan 2018

Happy New Year!
Mon, 01 Jan 2018

Merry Christmas from 90.9 WGUC and Clef Notes!
Mon, 25 Dec 2017

O magnum mysterium
Wed, 20 Dec 2017

Happy Birthday Beethoven!
Sat, 16 Dec 2017

Richard Strauss' Till Eulenspiegel
Tue, 12 Dec 2017

Brahms and Absolute Music
Thu, 07 Dec 2017

Absolute vs. Programmatic Music
Tue, 05 Dec 2017

The Nutcracker: A Holiday Tradition
Thu, 30 Nov 2017

A Sleigh Ride with Delius
Tue, 28 Nov 2017

A Playlist for Thanksgiving
Thu, 23 Nov 2017

Arnold Bax's "November Woods"
Tue, 21 Nov 2017

Frank Bridge's "Summer"
Thu, 16 Nov 2017

A Mendelssohn Summer
Tue, 14 Nov 2017

Springtime with Copland
Thu, 09 Nov 2017