Stamitz and the Mannheim Orchestra
Fri, 11 Aug 2017

We cannot discuss the early development of the symphony without mentioning Mannheim. The Mannheim court was known to have an excellent music scene, the orchestra led by composer Johann Stamitz. The orchestra at Mannheim was known for its excellent dynamic control, particularly the sudden crescendos (growth from soft to loud). As a composer, Stamitz was known to use this “Mannheim Crescendo” in his work.

Significant to the development of the symphony, Stamitz was the first composer to consistently use a four-movement structure when composing rather than the three-movement plan that was standard at the time. Adding a minuet and trio movement between the slow movement and the final fast movement became standard with many prominent composers to follow later in the era.

Another significant change to the symphony within the Mannheim court was the addition of wind instruments including oboe, horn, and even an occasional clarinet!

Listen to Stamitz’s Sinfonia in E-flat major here

What new features do you notice about this symphony in comparison with the Sammartini symphony we looked at last time? 


More from Clef Notes:

Rebecca Clarke
Tue, 19 Sep 2017

The Wreckers
Thu, 14 Sep 2017

Ethel Smyth
Tue, 12 Sep 2017

Amy Beach's Gaelic Symphony
Thu, 07 Sep 2017

Happy Birthday Amy Beach!
Tue, 05 Sep 2017

What is your favorite era for the symphony?
Thu, 31 Aug 2017

William Grant Still's Afro-American Symphony
Tue, 29 Aug 2017

The Romantic Era Symphony
Thu, 24 Aug 2017

Beethoven's Pivotal Ninth Symphony
Tue, 22 Aug 2017

A Symphony by Mozart
Thu, 17 Aug 2017

Haydn and his Surprises!
Tue, 15 Aug 2017

Stamitz and the Mannheim Orchestra
Fri, 11 Aug 2017

A Symphony by Sammartini
Wed, 09 Aug 2017

The Early Symphony
Mon, 07 Aug 2017

Music by Danny Elfman
Thu, 03 Aug 2017

William Schuman's New England Triptych
Tue, 01 Aug 2017

The Music of Elmer Bernstein
Thu, 27 Jul 2017

Leonard Bernstein's West Side Story
Tue, 25 Jul 2017

Eric Whitacre and Goodnight Moon
Thu, 20 Jul 2017

The Music of Samuel Barber
Tue, 18 Jul 2017