Amy Beach's Gaelic Symphony
Thu, 07 Sep 2017

Last time we discussed Amy Beach and her impact on women composers to follow her lead. Living during a time when women were thought to be incapable of creating large-scale works, Amy sought to prove the theory wrong by writing many large-scale works including one we will look at today, her Gaelic Symphony (1896).

Finding inspiration in Dvorak’s New World Symphony which used plantation songs and Native American melodies, Amy decided to write something drawing from her Celtic heritage. The Gaelic Symphony contains four traditional Irish tunes as themes. Can you hear them?

In total, Amy Beach wrote over 300 works, also including many songs and piano works. Do you have a favorite? 


More from Clef Notes:

Rebecca Clarke
Tue, 19 Sep 2017

The Wreckers
Thu, 14 Sep 2017

Ethel Smyth
Tue, 12 Sep 2017

Amy Beach's Gaelic Symphony
Thu, 07 Sep 2017

Happy Birthday Amy Beach!
Tue, 05 Sep 2017

What is your favorite era for the symphony?
Thu, 31 Aug 2017

William Grant Still's Afro-American Symphony
Tue, 29 Aug 2017

The Romantic Era Symphony
Thu, 24 Aug 2017

Beethoven's Pivotal Ninth Symphony
Tue, 22 Aug 2017

A Symphony by Mozart
Thu, 17 Aug 2017

Haydn and his Surprises!
Tue, 15 Aug 2017

Stamitz and the Mannheim Orchestra
Fri, 11 Aug 2017

A Symphony by Sammartini
Wed, 09 Aug 2017

The Early Symphony
Mon, 07 Aug 2017

Music by Danny Elfman
Thu, 03 Aug 2017

William Schuman's New England Triptych
Tue, 01 Aug 2017

The Music of Elmer Bernstein
Thu, 27 Jul 2017

Leonard Bernstein's West Side Story
Tue, 25 Jul 2017

Eric Whitacre and Goodnight Moon
Thu, 20 Jul 2017

The Music of Samuel Barber
Tue, 18 Jul 2017