What is your favorite era for the symphony?
Thu, 31 Aug 2017

Now that we’ve spent the last month watching the symphony progress over time, what would you say is your favorite era for the symphony? Do you have a favorite symphonic composer or piece?

My favorite era has to be the Romantic period (roughly the 19th-century). As far as a favorite piece, I always say you cannot go wrong with Beethoven! However to avoid sounding cliché, I will go with Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9 “From the New World.” I enjoy Dvorak’s ability to create nationalistic music and, though not from America, I believe he creates an outstanding American idiom in this piece.  



More from Clef Notes:

A Mendelssohn Summer
Tue, 14 Nov 2017

Springtime with Copland
Thu, 09 Nov 2017

Seasonal Music
Tue, 07 Nov 2017

Happy Halloween!
Tue, 31 Oct 2017

Toscanini at Music Hall
Sat, 28 Oct 2017

John Adams at Music Hall
Thu, 26 Oct 2017

Saint-Saens at Music Hall
Tue, 24 Oct 2017

Stravinsky at Music Hall
Thu, 19 Oct 2017

Rachmaninoff at Music Hall
Tue, 17 Oct 2017

Leonard Bernstein at Music Hall
Thu, 12 Oct 2017

Aaron Copland and Music Hall
Tue, 10 Oct 2017

Richard Strauss at Music Hall
Thu, 05 Oct 2017

Rostropovich in Cincinnati
Tue, 03 Oct 2017

Music Hall: Welcome Home
Thu, 28 Sep 2017

Missy Mazzoli
Tue, 26 Sep 2017

Rebecca Clarke's Viola Sonata
Thu, 21 Sep 2017

Rebecca Clarke
Tue, 19 Sep 2017

The Wreckers
Thu, 14 Sep 2017

Ethel Smyth
Tue, 12 Sep 2017

Amy Beach's Gaelic Symphony
Thu, 07 Sep 2017