Arnold Bax's "November Woods"
Tue, 21 Nov 2017

This month, Clef Notes is looking at seasonal music and this week, it’s Autumn! What better title for an Autumn piece than “November Woods”? Arnold Bax’s tone poem was written in 1917 and first performed in 1920. The piece depicts the sounds of nature during late Autumn. In Bax’s mind, this meant stormy and bleak. Upon completing the work, Bax admitted to friends that he also hinted at his own inner-turmoil in this music. At the time, he was in the midst of a tumultuous affair with pianist Harriet Cohen.

As you listen to “November Woods,” see if you can hear the windy morning near the beginning, depicted by the harp, woodwinds, and muted cello. 

Bax lived under the shadow of Edward Elgar and Ralph Vaughan Williams. It wasn’t until later in his life that he received a bit more public recognition.

Join me next time for a special music playlist to accompany your Thanksgiving activities! 


More from Clef Notes:

Richard Strauss' Till Eulenspiegel
Tue, 12 Dec 2017

Brahms and Absolute Music
Thu, 07 Dec 2017

Absolute vs. Programmatic Music
Tue, 05 Dec 2017

The Nutcracker: A Holiday Tradition
Thu, 30 Nov 2017

A Sleigh Ride with Delius
Tue, 28 Nov 2017

A Playlist for Thanksgiving
Thu, 23 Nov 2017

Arnold Bax's "November Woods"
Tue, 21 Nov 2017

Frank Bridge's "Summer"
Thu, 16 Nov 2017

A Mendelssohn Summer
Tue, 14 Nov 2017

Springtime with Copland
Thu, 09 Nov 2017

Seasonal Music
Tue, 07 Nov 2017

Happy Halloween!
Tue, 31 Oct 2017

Toscanini at Music Hall
Sat, 28 Oct 2017

John Adams at Music Hall
Thu, 26 Oct 2017

Saint-Saens at Music Hall
Tue, 24 Oct 2017

Stravinsky at Music Hall
Thu, 19 Oct 2017

Rachmaninoff at Music Hall
Tue, 17 Oct 2017

Leonard Bernstein at Music Hall
Thu, 12 Oct 2017

Aaron Copland and Music Hall
Tue, 10 Oct 2017

Richard Strauss at Music Hall
Thu, 05 Oct 2017