A Sleigh Ride with Delius
Tue, 28 Nov 2017

Thanksgiving is over and for many, thoughts are now turned to the holiday season. Be sure to make 90.9 WGUC part of your holiday festivities – we have a carefully-selected assortment of programs for the Hanukkah and Christmas seasons. We kick things off with Advent Voices on December 3 at 8pm.

What are some of your favorite holiday or winter pieces of music? One of mine happens to be Frederick Delius’ “Sleigh Ride.” Something about the sound of sleigh bells always gets me into that picturesque-winter mindset.

Delius originally wrote “Sleigh Ride” in 1887 as a piano piece that he first performed for his friend and fellow composer, Edvard Grieg. He later orchestrated it, but then set it aside. It wasn’t until years following the composer’s death that it was re-discovered and added to standard holiday repertory.



More from Clef Notes:

Richard Strauss' Till Eulenspiegel
Tue, 12 Dec 2017

Brahms and Absolute Music
Thu, 07 Dec 2017

Absolute vs. Programmatic Music
Tue, 05 Dec 2017

The Nutcracker: A Holiday Tradition
Thu, 30 Nov 2017

A Sleigh Ride with Delius
Tue, 28 Nov 2017

A Playlist for Thanksgiving
Thu, 23 Nov 2017

Arnold Bax's "November Woods"
Tue, 21 Nov 2017

Frank Bridge's "Summer"
Thu, 16 Nov 2017

A Mendelssohn Summer
Tue, 14 Nov 2017

Springtime with Copland
Thu, 09 Nov 2017

Seasonal Music
Tue, 07 Nov 2017

Happy Halloween!
Tue, 31 Oct 2017

Toscanini at Music Hall
Sat, 28 Oct 2017

John Adams at Music Hall
Thu, 26 Oct 2017

Saint-Saens at Music Hall
Tue, 24 Oct 2017

Stravinsky at Music Hall
Thu, 19 Oct 2017

Rachmaninoff at Music Hall
Tue, 17 Oct 2017

Leonard Bernstein at Music Hall
Thu, 12 Oct 2017

Aaron Copland and Music Hall
Tue, 10 Oct 2017

Richard Strauss at Music Hall
Thu, 05 Oct 2017