What's coming up on Music Cincinnati?
Mon, 16 Jul 2018

Coming up this Sunday, July 22 at 8pm, 90.9 WGUC presents its Music Cincinnati series, this month spotlighting Cincinnatiís Vocal Arts Ensemble. Just what exactly is the VAE and what can listeners expect to hear on this special from 90.9?

Since they were founded in 1979, the Vocal Arts Ensemble has sought to present passionate performances for diverse audiences. The chamber choir is currently led by Grammy Award-winning conductor Craig Hella Johnson, who is recognized as one of the nationís leading choral conductors. Through a variety of innovative performances, the VAE seeks to increase the publicís appreciation of choral music. They often collaborate with other local ensembles in repertoire ranging from the classics to world premieres.

What can you expect to hear this Sunday? The Music Cincinnati broadcast will feature the VAE performing alongside the Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra and the Cincinnati Childrenís Choir. The concert was recorded November 12, 2017 inside Memorial Hall in Cincinnatiís Over-the-Rhine community. This concert celebrated the VAE making the newly-restored Memorial Hall their new home. Three works appear on the program Ė two classics and one world premiere written specifically for this concert. Craig Hella Johnson commissioned Dominick DiíOrioís A World Aglow for the occasion. The piece takes its text from Amy Lowellís The Congressional Library and revolves around themes of inclusivity and equality. Havenít heard of Dominick DiíOrio? He is an award-winning young composer and conductor whose music is widely performed and recorded. At the age of 31, he became the youngest-ever tenured conducting professor at Indiana University.

What else is on the program? For those who love the classics, youíll be happy to know that both J.S. Bach and Mozart appear on the program. Bachís Ascension Oratorio rounds out the first half with Mozartís Requiem following a brief intermission.

Like what you hear? This program is available on air, online at wguc.org, and through our free mobile app July 22nd at 8pm! If you arenít available when it airs, you can also access WGUCís Music Cincinnati series archived at http://www.wguc.org/schedule/musiccincinnati.html


More from Clef Notes:

History of the May Festival
Mon, 01 Oct 2018

Coming Up on Music Cincinnati
Mon, 24 Sep 2018

A New Album from Anne Akiko Meyers
Mon, 17 Sep 2018

Getting Ready for Autumn
Mon, 10 Sep 2018

John Williams: A Life in Music
Mon, 03 Sep 2018

Classical Music 101: What Happens Behind The Scenes At A Classical Public Radio Station? - Part 3
Mon, 27 Aug 2018

Music Cincinnati: Music in the Museum
Mon, 20 Aug 2018

A Tribute to Ralph Vaughan Williams
Mon, 13 Aug 2018

Happy Birthday, Lenny!
Fri, 03 Aug 2018

Classical Music 101: What Happens Behind The Scenes At A Classical Public Radio Station? - Part 2
Mon, 30 Jul 2018

Leonard Bernstein's Jewish Heritage
Mon, 23 Jul 2018

What's coming up on Music Cincinnati?
Mon, 16 Jul 2018

A New Album from Simone Dinnerstein
Mon, 09 Jul 2018

Music for the 4th!
Wed, 04 Jul 2018

Leonard Bernstein: A Celebrated Teacher
Mon, 25 Jun 2018

Music Cincinnati: Linton Chamber Music Series
Mon, 18 Jun 2018

Charles Gounod Turns 200!
Mon, 11 Jun 2018

Virtual Tour: WGUC Music Library
Mon, 04 Jun 2018

Sibelius' Kullervo
Tue, 29 May 2018

Bernstein's Mass
Thu, 17 May 2018