Music in Modern Gaming
Thu, 22 Mar 2018

Like many things in todayís modernized world, anything goes when creating a new video game. The types of music you may hear and how itís used in newly-released games varies greatly. Today, letís just look at a few uses of music in various modern-age games.

Today it is more common to have an actual composer write a soundtrack for a game rather than using a programmer to create background mechanical sounds. Some people relate video game scores to film scores when they are actually quite different to create. Many film composers know exactly what to expect with the film and have the clean and neat task of putting music to an already-set plotline. With video games, however, the story or progression is unpredictable since each individual player determines which direction the plot might turn. Many composers approach this difficult task by creating a score with flaps containing different ways the music may turn as well as different layers of instruments, adding more during intense moments.

Darren Korb, composer for games such as Bastion and Transistor is known for his excellent soundtracks and use of experimental music.

While some games use the old chip tunes, nostalgically choosing to pull sounds from the 80s, others use beautiful soundtracks (many people think of Halo when they want to hear a great video game soundtrack). One of my favorite soundtracks comes from Journeyin which the main character is represented by a solo cello.

Do you dislike the soundtrack you hear in one of your games? Xbox players can plug their iPod into the console and create their own soundtrack!

Do you remember when we looked at diegetic and non-diegetic music during our film music months? Well, these terms also apply to video games! As a reminder, diegetic music is music that the characters onscreen can hear (there is a musical source onscreen) while non-diegetic is simply background music. Bioshock Infinite shows a record player inside a house while Grand Theft Auto allows players to choose their own radio station inside the car, both diegetic examples.

Hopefully the expansive examples touched on above show you that music can be used in many different ways within modern-day video games. Do you enjoy the range of options currently on the market or do you prefer the traditional games of the 80s and early 90s?

More from Clef Notes:

Rhythm Games
Tue, 20 Mar 2018

Making Music in a Game
Thu, 15 Mar 2018

The Role of Music in Gaming
Tue, 13 Mar 2018

Video Game Music History!
Thu, 08 Mar 2018

Video Games and Music
Tue, 06 Mar 2018

Schubert's "Great" Symphony
Thu, 01 Mar 2018

Living in Beethoven's Shadow
Tue, 27 Feb 2018

Mozart, Salieri, and Pop Culture
Thu, 22 Feb 2018

The Mozart/Salieri Rivalry
Tue, 20 Feb 2018

Berlioz's Symphonie fantastique
Thu, 15 Feb 2018

The Passionate Love of Hector Berlioz
Tue, 13 Feb 2018

Brahms' Correspondence with Clara Schumann
Thu, 08 Feb 2018

The Pursuit of Clara Schumann
Tue, 06 Feb 2018

Querelle des bouffons
Wed, 31 Jan 2018

Shostakovich's Response to Criticism
Fri, 26 Jan 2018

Controversy and Shostakovich
Wed, 24 Jan 2018

Shostakovich's Lady Macbeth
Mon, 22 Jan 2018

Irony in Kindertotenlieder
Fri, 19 Jan 2018

Controversy Behind Kindertotenlieder
Wed, 17 Jan 2018

Mahler's Kindertotenlieder
Mon, 15 Jan 2018