Classical 90.9 WGUC Public Radio

Clef Notes


Clef Notes is a musical discussion with WGUC Music Director Jessica Lorey.
For more musical explorations, visit Clef Notes.

A New Release from Colin Currie
Mon, 22 Apr 2019

Colin Currie appeared as soloist with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra earlier this month, performing a percussion concerto that Finnish composer Kalevi Aho wrote specifically for him. It just so happens that the same weekend Currie was here in town, his new album was released on his own record label, Colin Currie Records. This album was done in collaboration with composer Steve Reich. While he was here, we asked him to drop by our studios and tell us a little more about how this album came about.  He went on to explain how he first met Steve Reich.  Many of the pieces he performs require both physical and mental stamina. He told me how he prepares for these types of performances.  Of course, I always enjoy hearing about what first drew these great artists towards their instrument. Whether you were able to see Colin Currie perform at Music Hall or not, I highly recommend checking out this album. There is a reason why he’s considered one of today’s leading percussionists.



More from Clef Notes

Meet Jason Vieaux!
Mon, 10 Jun 2019

Meet Lara Downes!
Mon, 03 Jun 2019

Playlist for a Picnic
Sat, 25 May 2019

Meet Naomi Lewin!
Mon, 20 May 2019

It's May Festival Season!
Mon, 13 May 2019

What is Impressionism?
Mon, 06 May 2019

May the fourth be with you!
Sat, 04 May 2019

A New Release from Colin Currie
Mon, 22 Apr 2019

Franz von Suppé Turns 200
Mon, 15 Apr 2019

Meet Elaine Diehl
Mon, 08 Apr 2019

April Fools!
Mon, 01 Apr 2019

Meet Hee-Young Lim
Mon, 25 Mar 2019

Celebrating Bach!
Mon, 18 Mar 2019

Meet Matthew Lipman
Mon, 11 Mar 2019

Meet Lloyd Bryant
Mon, 04 Mar 2019

What is Baroque?
Mon, 25 Feb 2019

Meet Brian O'Donnell
Mon, 18 Feb 2019

Music for Valentine's Day
Thu, 14 Feb 2019

Just in Time for the Grammy Awards
Sat, 02 Feb 2019

Exclusive Interview with Local Pianist Kara Huber
Mon, 28 Jan 2019

SPONSORSHIP


© 90.9 WGUC | 1223 Central Parkway | Cincinnati, OH 45214