Classical 90.9 WGUC Public Radio

Clef Notes


Clef Notes is a musical discussion with WGUC Music Director Jessica Lorey.
For more musical explorations, visit Clef Notes.

Meet Hee-Young Lim
Mon, 25 Mar 2019

If it isn’t already, the name Hee-Young Lim is one you should have on your radar. This young, South Korean cellist is quickly establishing herself as one of the leading musicians of this generation. Her passion for music is evident when you listen to her play. She has a tremendous command over her instrument and her virtuosity and musicality shine through in her debut recording that was released in November 2018 with Scott Yoo and the London Symphony Orchestra. Following the release of her album, I had the privilege of getting to know Hee-Young and learning a little more about why she chose exclusively French repertoire for this new release. The concertos on Hee-Young’s album with the London Symphony are less commonly recorded than something like the Dvorak Cello Concerto.  The Saint-Saëns and Lalo concertos are some of the first pieces Hee-Young learned as a child. She told me what it was like to revisit them as an adult.  Hee-Young does not come from a musical family and the story about how she came to play the cello is somewhat amusing. And the rest is history! During her recording session with the London Symphony Orchestra at Abbey Road studios, Hee-Young encountered a freak accident with her bow. Hee-Young Lim’s album with the LSO includes cello concertos by Saint-Saëns, Lalo, and Milhaud, in addition to Offenbach’s “Les larmes de Jacqueline” and the famous Meditation from Thais by Massenet. We’re loving this new hit in the WGUC library and hope you do, too!



More from Clef Notes

Meet Jason Vieaux!
Mon, 10 Jun 2019

Meet Lara Downes!
Mon, 03 Jun 2019

Playlist for a Picnic
Sat, 25 May 2019

Meet Naomi Lewin!
Mon, 20 May 2019

It's May Festival Season!
Mon, 13 May 2019

What is Impressionism?
Mon, 06 May 2019

May the fourth be with you!
Sat, 04 May 2019

A New Release from Colin Currie
Mon, 22 Apr 2019

Franz von Suppé Turns 200
Mon, 15 Apr 2019

Meet Elaine Diehl
Mon, 08 Apr 2019

April Fools!
Mon, 01 Apr 2019

Meet Hee-Young Lim
Mon, 25 Mar 2019

Celebrating Bach!
Mon, 18 Mar 2019

Meet Matthew Lipman
Mon, 11 Mar 2019

Meet Lloyd Bryant
Mon, 04 Mar 2019

What is Baroque?
Mon, 25 Feb 2019

Meet Brian O'Donnell
Mon, 18 Feb 2019

Music for Valentine's Day
Thu, 14 Feb 2019

Just in Time for the Grammy Awards
Sat, 02 Feb 2019

Exclusive Interview with Local Pianist Kara Huber
Mon, 28 Jan 2019

SPONSORSHIP


© 90.9 WGUC | 1223 Central Parkway | Cincinnati, OH 45214