One City One Symphony
One City One Symphony

Sunday, February 18, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Originally performed on November 24 & 25, 2017
Louis Langrée, conductor
Truls Mørk, cello

Emily Cooley: World Premiere
Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6, Pathétique

Music can give voice to emotions that otherwise cannot be expressed. This is true for composers like Tchaikovsky, whose heartbreaking Pathétique Symphony suggests his inner turmoil, and Shostakovich, whose music signals triumph over oppression. As part of our annual One City, One Symphony initiative, we welcome the inimitable cellist Truls Mørk and feature a world premiere by composer Emily Cooley for an evening honoring the visionaries who use music to Speak Truth.

Return to the season listing.