Juanjo Mena Conducts The Leningrad
Juanjo Mena Conducts The Leningrad

Sunday, March 25, 2018 at 8:00 pm

Originally performed on February 2 & 3, 2018
Juanjo Mena, conductor
Javier Perianes, piano

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 21
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, Leningrad

Spanish conducting sensation Juanjo Mena, the recently appointed Principal Conductor of the May Festival, leads the Orchestra in Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7, Leningrad. Written in 1941 in passionate response to oppression and censorship, it remains one of the composer’s most enduring and powerful works. Spanish pianist Javier Perianes performs Mozart’s sublime Piano Concerto No. 21—known as the Elvira Madigan, this majestic work will be familiar to audiences.

Return to the season listing.